Young Firefighters, EMTs, Recognized as "Hometown Heroes"

The Main Line Chamber Foundation awarded scholarships to 24 volunteer firefighters and EMTs on June 12.

Twenty-four volunteer firefighters and emergency medical technicians were honored Tuesday night at the Main Line Chamber Foundation's "Hometown Heroes" Scholarship Awards Ceremony. The awards ceremony, now in its third year, honors students who are selflessly volunteering their time and energy to give back to the community.

Among this year's award recipients are Chris Canazzi of and Gladwyne Fire Company, Katherine Smith and Rachal Torg, VMSC of Narberth & Lower Merion, and Daniel Szallasi, VMSC of Lower Merion.

Also honored was Drew Kopicki, a volunteer and one of two recipients of the $2,500 Thomas J. Hays Memorial Scholarship.

View the photo gallery above for a few images from the evening.

Below is the complete list of scholarship recipients:

$1,500 Scholarships:

  • Christopher Baca, Oakmont Fire Company, West Chester University
  • Steven R. Clement, Llanerch Fire Company, Temple University
  • Daniel Gershman, Manoa Fire Company, Rosemont College
  • Domenic J. Marino, Oakmont & Manoa Fire Companies, Drexel University
  • Daniel J. Sheridan, East Whiteland Volunteer Fire Company, West Chester University
  • John P. Welsh, Llanerch Fire Company, Gwynedd-Mercy College

$1,000 Scholarships:

  • Reed Apostol, Malvern Fire Company, McGill University
  • Kimberly Baker, Llanerch Fire Company, Harcum College
  • Chris Canazzi, & Gladwyne Fire Company, MontCo Community College
  • Thomas Fitzgerald, Malvern Fire Company, Temple University
  • Gerard C. Griesser, Berwyn Fire Company, West Chester University
  • Jackie Grimes, Radnor Fire Company, Villanova & Thomas Jefferson Universities
  • Gregory Ian Lattanzi, Radnor Fire Company, Villanova University
  • Evan J. Reed, East Whiteland Fire Company, Pennsylvania College of Technology
  • Elizabeth Schew, Berwyn Fire Company, University of New Haven
  • Zachary M. Silver, Oakmont Fire Company, Automotive Training Center
  • Katherine Smith, VMSC of Narberth & Lower Merion, Saint Joseph's University
  • Jonathan Sweeney, Oakmont Fire Company, Delaware County Community College
  • Daniel Szallasi, VMSC of Lower Merion, Union Fire Company, Belmont Hills Fire Company, Drexel University
  • Rachal Torg, VMSC of Narberth & Lower Merion, Haverford College
  • Lucinda Tuttle, VMSC 313 (Narberth Ambulance), West Chester University
  • Carl Weisbecker, Berwyn Fire Company, Kutztown University

$2,500 Thomas J. Hays Memorial Scholarships:

  • Drew Kopicki, Penn Wynne Fire Company, Rensselaer Polytechnic
  • Kerri Sheehy, Llanerch Fire Company, Montgomery County College
Barbara HInkle June 13, 2012 at 06:54 PM
congratulations to all of you


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »