Where, When and For Whom Can You Vote Tuesday in Your Patch?

Races for judge and sheriff are contested.

On Tuesday, while Wynnewood Democrats vote on whether to give Lower Merion Board of Commissioners President Liz Rogan a chance at re-election this fall, primary-election voters in Narberth-Bala Cynwyd Patch will get to vote on judges and sheriffs but will have no decisions (excepting write-ins) to make about local government.

Residents who are registered as Democrats or Republicans may vote Tuesday in their respective parties' primary elections, any time between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. at their designated polling places. (See below for a list of polling places.)

Two judge positions are up for grabs in Montgomery County's district of the Court of Common Pleas. Three candidates—Dan Clifford of Springfield, Maureen Coggins of Hanover and Richard Haaz of Springfield—appear on both parties' primary ballots, while Cheryl Austin of Abington is a fourth option on the Democratic ballot.

Republicans also have a choice to make on county sheriff: Eileen Whalon Behr of Whitemarsh, appointed by Gov. Tom Corbett to the post earlier this year to supplant the late John P. Durante, or Robert J. Durante (no relation) of Norristown. The winner faces Democrat William A. Holt Jr. of Abington in the general election.

In statewide judicial races, Republicans can pick between Vic Stabile of Cumberland County or Paula A. Patrick of Philadelphia for Superior Court Judge, as well as between Anne Covey of Bucks County and Paul P. Panepinto of Philadelphia for Judge of Commonwealth Court. Democrats' options for Commonwealth Court are Kathryn Boockvar of Bucks County and Barbara Behrend Ernsberger of Allegheny County.

In Lower Merion, Rogan's Ward 7 contest against fellow Democrat Ted Erfer is the township's only contested primary race for the Board of Commissioners. In November, however, the Democratic incumbents in Wards 1, 3, 9 and 13 all will face Republican challengers.

Narberth's race for three seats appears to be a done deal, unless strong independents emerge: Three Democratic candidates and no Republicans are on the ballot.

Below is a list of polling places in each voting precinct, with links to sample ballots specific to each. If you want to know where to vote but don't know which precinct you are in, click here to find out through Montgomery County Voter Services.


Precinct's ballot Polling place Narberth-1 , 227 N. Narberth Ave., Narberth Narberth-2 , 80 Windsor Ave., Narberth Narberth-3 , 80 Windsor Ave., Narberth Lower Merion 1-1 , 301 Righters Mill Road, Penn Valley Lower Merion 1-2 , 301 Righters Mill Road, Penn Valley Lower Merion 2-3 , 1660 Oakwood Drive, Penn Valley Lower Merion 3-1 , 120 Marywatersford Road, Belmont Hills Lower Merion 3-2 , 325 Tower Lane, Penn Valley Lower Merion 3-3 , 4 S. Washington Ave., Belmont Hills Lower Merion 9-1 , 120 Bryn Mawr Ave., Bala Cynwyd Lower Merion 9-2 , 238 Belmont Ave., Bala Cynwyd Lower Merion 9-3 Bala Gym, 45 Bala Ave., Bala Cynwyd Lower Merion 13-1 , 327 Levering Mill Road, Bala Cynwyd Lower Merion 13-2 , 510 Bryn Mawr Ave., Bala Cynwyd Lower Merion 13-3 , 510 Bryn Mawr Ave., Bala Cynwyd


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »